Join the ghostlight records mailing list for special updates and new music releases!

We're moving warehouses! There might be a slight delay in your shipment. Thank you for your patience!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Be More Chill (Vinyl Album)

Joe Iconis
Be More Chill (Vinyl Album)


Be the first to review this product


The Original Broadway Cast Recording of Be More Chill is coming this Spring! Be the first to get pre-order news by joining the mailing list at

The first-ever vinyl release of Be More Chill’s Original Cast Recording features new illustrative designs, colored discs, and a booklet with lyrics, production photos and a new liner note from Joe Iconis.

Based on the cult sensation novel by Ned Vizzini, Be More Chill is the story of Jeremy Heere, your average, nothing-special teenager at Middleborough High in nothing-special New Jersey. That is, until the day he finds out about "The Squip." Thus begins a journey that pits Jeremy's desire to be popular against his struggle to remain true to his authentic self. This original musical with music and lyrics by Joe Iconis and a book by Joe Tracz was originally commissioned and produced by Two River Theater, Red Bank, NJ.

Be More Chill is an honest, edgy, super-hilarious look at coming of age in the digital age, set to some of the most exciting songs in contemporary musical theater. This original musical comedy looks at modern issues like depression, bullying, and anxiety through the lens of sci-fi films of the 50s, horror flicks of the 80s, and teen movies of the 90s. Little Shop of Horrors meets The Breakfast Club in this celebration of outcasts, teenaged or otherwise.

The orchestrator and musical supervisor for the cast album was Charlie Rosen and the musical director and copyist was Nathan Dame. The Be More Chill cast album was produced by Kurt Deutsch, Joe Iconis and Charlie Rosen. The recording of Be More Chill features original cast members Will Connolly (Jeremy), Eric William Morris (The Squip), Jake Boyd (Jake), Gerard Canonico (Rich), Katlyn Carlson (Chloe), Katie Ladner (Jenna Rolan), Lauren Marcus (Brooke), George Salazar (Michael), and Paul Whitty (Jeremy'Dad/Mr. Reyes/Scary Stockboy). The six-piece orchestra includes Nathan Dame (Conductor and Keyboard), Danny Jonokuchi (Theremin/Trumpet), Dan McMillan (Drums/Percussion), Josh Plotner (Vocoder/Reeds), Mike Rosengarten (Guitar) and Amanda Ruzza (Bass).

“A delight with a pop rock score, written by Mr. Joe Iconis that is unfailingly lively and fresh." - Terry Teachout, The Wall Street Journal

“In a production boasting many strengths, the greatest is Mr. Iconis’s music. With more hooks than a fishermen’s convention, the music grabs you and does not let you go. The six-piece band is on fire and that the cast are vocal acrobats.” - Stan Freidman, New York Theatre Guide

“Explosive fun. The music keeps the show exciting all the way through!” - James Feinberg, The Broadway Journal

Be More Chill has the makings of a modern classic. A smart and crowd-pleasing new musical comedy containing superb pop-rock show tunes by Joe Iconis. He has written his finest score to date.” - Matt Windman, AM New York

“Joe Iconis’ pop-rock comedy captures contemporary high school angst with heart and specificity.” - Jake Nevins, Observer

“You will hear, see, and feel the future of musical theater in the Joe Iconis and Joe Tracz creation Be More Chill.” -Martha Wade Steketee, TheaterPizzazz

Track Listing

Side A:
1. Jeremy's Theme (Instrumental)
2. More Than Survive
3. I Love Play Rehearsal
4. The Squip Song
5. Two-Player Game

Side B:
6. The Squip Enters
7. Be More Chill Part 1
8. Do You Wanna Ride?
9. Be More Chill Part 2
10. More Than Survive (Reprise)
11. A Guy That I'd Kinda Be Into
12. The Squip Lurks (Instrumental)
13. Upgrade

Side C:
14. Halloween
15. Do You Wanna Hang?
16. Michael In The Bathroom
17. The Smartphone Hour (Rich Set A Fire)

Side D:
18. The Pitiful Children
19. The Pants Song
20. The Play
21. Voices In My Head