Join the ghostlight records mailing list for special updates and new music releases!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Hadestown (Live Cast Recording)

Original Cast of Hadestown
Hadestown (Live Cast Recording)


Be the first to review this product


A time of scarcity and fear, a love that knows no bounds, an authoritarian leader who promises security and freedom, an artist who challenges the status quo – this is the premise of Hadestown. In Anaïs Mitchell’s imaginative rendering, brought to vibrant life by director Rachel Chavkin and an extraordinary company of actors and musicians, we witness love that never dies. Above ground is an idealistic poet who believes he can change the world with a song, and a skeptical young woman who sees the world for what it is. Down below is the ageless yet frayed love between the King and Queen of the underworld. When confronted with the alternatives of freedom or security, what choices would we make? Mitchell states “what you’re hearing is more than a score, it’s people moving, dancing, breathing, the improvisations of the band, and the audience responding in real time…”. The Orpheus and Eurydice myth retold in Hadestown may be an ancient story, but it is undeniably as relevant today as it has ever been. Hadestown is a musical like no other. Defying genre, it mixes folk, jazz, blues, and Americana into a sweeping ancient tale, re-imagined.

Track Listing
1. Road to Hell
2. Livin' It Up on Top
3. All I've Ever Known
4. Way Down Hadestown
5. Epic II
6. Chant
7. Hey Little Songbird
8. When the Chips are Down
9. Gone I'm Gone
10. Wait for Me
11. Why We Build the Wall
12. Our Lady of the Underground
13. Way Down Hadestown II
14. Chant II
15. Epic III
16. Word to the Wise
17. His Kiss the Riot
18. Promises
19. Wait for Me II
20. Doubt Comes In
21. Road to Hell II