Join the ghostlight records mailing list for special updates and new music releases!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Soft Power (Original Cast Recording)

Jeanine Tesori, David Henry Hwang
Soft Power (Original Cast Recording)


Price as configured: $0.00

Be the first to review this product

Bundle Includes:

Soft Power (Original Cast Recording) Digital Album   +$9.99

* Required Fields


Tony Award winners David Henry Hwang (M. BUTTERFLY, YELLOW FACE) and Jeanine Tesori (FUN HOME; VIOLET; CAROLINE, OR CHANGE) bring their groundbreaking new musical-within-a-play to The Public for its New York premiere.

One of the most exciting theatrical collaborations in recent memory, SOFT POWER is an exploration of America's current place in the world, told through an East-West musical from China's point of view, in which a theater producer from Shanghai forges a powerful bond with Hillary Clinton. SOFT POWER is a fever dream of modern American politics amidst global conversations, asking us all – why do we love democracy? And should we?

Featuring the choreography of Tony nominee Sam Pinkleton (NATASHA, PIERRE, & THE GREAT COMET OF 1812), Tony nominee Leigh Silverman (VIOLET, YELLOW FACE, WILD GOOSE DREAMS) directs this exhilarating new show The Los Angeles Times calls "smart & wonderfully funny. A meeting of dauntingly innovative theatrical minds."

Creative Team:
Book & Lyrics by David Henry Hwang   
Music & Additional Lyrics by Jeanine Tesori
Choreography by Sam Pinkleton
Directed by Leigh Silverman 

Billy Bustamante
Jon Hoche
Kendyl Ito
Francis Jue
Austin Ku
Raymond J. Lee
Alyse Alan Louis
Jaygee Macapugay
Daniel May
Paul HeeSang Miller
Kirsten Faith Oei
Geena Quintos
Conrad Ricamora
Trevor Salter
Kyra Smith
Emily Stillings
Emily Tumble
John Yi

Track Listing

1. Overture - Instrumental / Ensemble
2. Dutiful - Conrad Ricamora, Kendyl Ito
3. Welcome to America - Geena Quintos, Ensemble
4. Fuxing Park - Conrad Ricamora, Francis Jue
5. I’m With Her - Jaygee Macapugay, Alyse Alan Louis, Austin Ku, Ensemble
6. It Just Takes Time - Conrad Ricamora, Alyse Alan Louis
7. Election Night - Jon Hoche, Francis Jue, Austin Ku, Ensemble
8. I Am - Francis Jue, Conrad Ricamora
9. Entr’acte/Song of the Campaign - Instrumental, Alyse Alan Louis
10. Happy Enough - Conrad Ricamora, Alyse Alan Louis
11. Good Guy With A Gun - Raymond J. Lee, Ensemble
12. The New Silk Road - Conrad Ricamora, Ensemble
13. Democracy - Alyse Alan Louis, Conrad Ricamora
14. Democracy (Reprise) - Full Company