Melissa Errico 'Sondheim Sublime'
Melissa Errico

Melissa Errico 'Sondheim Sublime'

SKU: #GL-091718
$9.99 - $12.99
5 out of 5 Customer Rating

In Sondheim Sublime Melissa Errico shows us a side of Stephen Sondheim’s music that no singer has explored so completely before. It’s not the satiric or slyly disillusioned Sondheim – it’s the soulful Sondheim, the heartfelt, hungering Sondheim, author of songs of aching love and slowly dawning wisdom, the exalted, and reflective Sondheim: Sondheim Sublime. Accompanied by pianist Tedd Firth, Errico sings in a tone by turns hushed, electric and ecstatic, giving us a new understanding of the emotional intensity that has always equaled Sondheim’s virtuosic verbal magic. It’s a program of songs of love and life lessons, including a perfectly protective mother’s version of “Not While I’m Around” – while still having time for a provocative “Sooner or Later.” An album to place alongside her earlier Legrand Affair and Lullabies and Wildflowers as part of a uniquely lyrical and romantic library, Sondheim Sublime is an Errico album meant for the three-o-clocks in the mornings of the soul, when love is lost and wisdoms sought from one wise friend.

Melissa is best known for her starring roles on Broadway in the musicals My Fair LadyAnna Karenina, High SocietyDraculaWhite Christmas and Amour which won her a Tony nomination for “Best Actress” and began a longtime association with its composer Michel Legrand. She has also been a recording artist and concert singer, releasing several solo albums and working with some of the world’s best symphonies and in jazz and cabaret spaces. More recently, she has been establishing a reputation as a writer, publishing essays in The New York Times and beyond. Television roles include the series Central Park West by Darren Star, recurring roles on Steven Soderbergh’s The Knick and Showtime’s Billions. Melissa has also recently finished shooting a role in The Magnificent Meyersons, an Eric Oppenheimer film with Kate Mulgrew.

Download the booklet for Sondheim Sublime.

Track List:

1. Sooner or Later
2. Loving You
3. I Remember
4. No More
5. The Miller’s Son
6. Losing My Mind
7. Send in the Clowns
8. Not While I’m Around
9. Not a Day Goes By
10. Marry Me a Little
11. Children Will Listen
12. Isn’t He Something!
13. Move On
14. Goodbye for Now
15. With so Little to Be Sure Of
16. Children and Art